Greetings From SoBe – Day 3

SoBe = South Beach for those of you who aren’t locals like myself 😉

Wow, what an eventful couple of days it’s been… so yesterday I finally got to visit the Jackie Gleason Theatre and boy was it gorgeous, totally art deco and located right on Miami Beach – my heart was all of a flutter… The venue is mainly hired for concerts and the nice lady (who clearly thought I was odd) even let me stand on stage and rock out for a while – I think she sensed it was worth it for an easy life. I took loads of pictures but then “mislaid” my camera – so I don’t have any pics to show you I’m afraid, but I was there, promise.

From there, I headed to Nikki Beach as a potential party venue. Wow. That’s all I can say. It’s right on the beach, uber hip and even seemed to have wifi. Love at first sight. Disney were actually having a huge party there that night, so I couldn’t stop too long, but just long enough for me to spin my macbook pro like a weirdo to give you a shot of the venue… now to await the price!

Nikki Beach

Then today I got up nice and early and headed to the Carnival Centre. Now, the Carnival Centre is located downtown, just on the other side of Biscayne Bay which put my on the backfoot to begin with as I preferred the idea of everything being on South Beach. That was until I stepped inside and it amazed me! It’s only been built a year and is absolutely stunning, plus it has some quirky rooms that we’ll be able to use for workshops too. It’s roughly a $13 cab ride to Ocean Drive, South Beach, so it’s not the end of the world and I really think it has potential to be a fantastic venue.

I thought that I’d stop by Jerry’s Famous Deli later in the day, all in the duty of work of course – just don’t ask the waiters whether I eat there every night as it gets a little embarrassing. Collins Avenue Shopping District also has an array of gorgeous bars, cafes and restaurants, all spilling out onto the street – very cosmopolitan. Well, cosmopolitan if it weren’t for the fact that there was a mini hurricane taking place at the time…

Miami has proven to be a real mixture of a town, one minute you can be in a tiny deli somewhere grabbing some food and the next in a really swanky bar. What I love about it is the relaxed atmosphere and you really feel like you’re on holiday as soon as you get here (be warned, that can make it a little difficult to be as attached to your beloved computer as you’re used to – and coming from me, that really is something).

me about town

So weather permitting, I head home tomorrow – I don’t want to leave and I really can’t wait for February – Miami is everything I could have hoped for and more – it will be amazing to share the experience with so many friends…

Oooh, by the way, I’m going to the Scrapblog offices tomorrow to see what they’re currently working on – I can’t wait, although I might have to work on my abilities to play it cool – I’m yet to master that skill!

Happy Tuesday everyone!


4 Responses to “Greetings From SoBe – Day 3”


  1. 1 Zach Katkin November 14, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Looks like the research and preparation for the event are going well. I can’t wait to attend the fowa event. I know we sometimes take Miami for granted in South Florida. Did you see the pincho man?

  2. 2 Luis November 25, 2007 at 1:48 am

    Hey! Just came across this! I didn’t know FOWA was going to be here in SoBe! I’m a local and can’t wait!

    If I can be of any help, feel free to contact me. There’s Nikki’s and plenty of other places we could go to. Some of which I could help you organize something at.

    See ya!


  1. 1 » Future of Web AppsJumpSwap » College Group Management Utility Trackback on November 15, 2007 at 2:53 pm
  2. 2 More exciting news for FOWA… « The Future of Web Apps Trackback on February 20, 2008 at 9:43 am

Leave a Reply

